Special thanks to the following people and organizations that contributed data and expertise:

Allison MacMunn

Sunstone Strategies

Sage Welch

Sunstone Strategies

Chloe Zilliac

Sunstone Strategies

American Public Transportation Association

American Wind Energy Association


Bureau of Labor Statistics

BW Research Partnership

California Air Resources Board

California Community Choice Association

California Department of Finance

California Department of Transportation

California Energy Commission

California New Car Dealers Association

California Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment

California Public Utilities Commission

California Solar Statistics


Center for Sustainable Energy

Commonwealth of Massachusetts (

Database of State Incentives for Renewable Energy

Energy Futures Initiative

European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

National Association of State Energy Officials

National Conference of State Legislatures

O*NET Online

PitchBook Data, Inc.

Sandia National Laboratory

U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Department of Agriculture

U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis

U.S. Department of Energy, Alternative Fuel Data Center

U.S. Department of Energy, Energy Information Administration

U.S. Department of Transportation

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Advisors to the California Green Innovation Index

Next 10 thanks the following expert advisors for their generous time and guidance on this project over the years:

Dan Adler

Senior Advisor for Climate Finance, Governor's Office of Business and Economic Development

Morrow Cater

Founding Principal, Cater Communications

Ralph Cavanagh

Energy Co-Director, NRDC

Michael Hanemann

Professor & Julie A. Wrigley Chair in Sustainability, Department of Economics, Arizona State University

Hal Harvey

CEO, Energy Innovation: Policy and Technology LLC

Elliot Hoffman


Mark Jacobson

Prof. of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Director of the Atmosphere/Energy Program, Stanford University

Dan Kammen

Class of 1935 Distinguished Professor of Energy in the Energy and Resources Group and the Goldman School of Public Policy. Director, Renewable & Appropriate Energy Laboratory, U.C. Berkeley

Joel Makower

Chairman and Executive Editor, GreenBiz Group Inc.

Jason Mark

CEO, Energy Foundation

Walter McGuire

Owner, McGuire & Co., Inc./Flex Your Power

Manuel Pastor

Professor of Sociology and American Studies & Ethnicity, Director of the USC Program for Environmental and Regional Equity, University of Southern California

Former State Senator Fran Pavley

Environmental Policy Director, USC Schwarzenegger Institute

Wendy Pulling

Director, ESG Integration, University of California, Office of the Chief Investment Officer

Dan Skopec

Vice President, Regulatory Affairs, Sempra Energy Utilities

James (Jim) Sweeney

Professor of Management Science and Engineering, Senior Fellow at Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford University

Tim Woodward

Managing Director, Prelude Ventures LLC

Next 10 expresses its deepest condolences to the family and loved ones of advisor Carol Whiteside, who passed away earlier this year. Her experience and leadership were invaluable to the Central Valley and California policy community, and she will be missed.


  • F. Noel Perry
  • Colleen Kredell
  • Marcia E. Perry
  • Stephanie Leonard
  • Patrick Adler
  • Brady Allardice
  • Hoyu Chong
Site Design and Development by: Chen Design Associates